COVID-19 Advisory Commission on African American Disparities

​The COVID-19 Advisory Commission on African American Disparities will work to develop plans to educate at-risk minority communities in the areas of prevention, testing, and treatment. The Commission will consider strategies to remove barriers to testing and make recommendations to broaden the inclusion of underserved communities in the state’s expanded testing plan. A 12-member commission has been formed consisting of representatives from:

  • Community/Grassroots Groups
  • Healthcare/Health Systems
  • State Legislature
  • Faith-Based Organizations

Commission Members

Chair, The Honorable Jill Upson
Executive Director
Herbert Henderson Office of Minority Affairs

Community/Grassroots Groups:

Romelia Hodges
Mike Jones

Owens Brown

Healthcare/Health Systems:

Tiffany Samuels
WVU Cancer Center

Keisha Saunders

Joylynn Fix
(304) 414-8035

State Legislature:

Delegate Sean Hornbuckle
House District 16, Cabell County

Delegate Caleb Hanna
House District 44, Nicholas County

Senator Patricia Puertas-Rucker
House District 16, Jefferson County

Faith-based Organizations:

Pastor Rahsaan Armand
Mt. Zion
Reverend James Patterson
Partnership of African American Churches (PAAC)

Meeting Minutes