Martin Luther King, Jr. State Holiday Commission

​“Living the Dream” Awards Nominations

Click here for 2024 printable nomination form.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Holiday Commission is now accepting names of persons and organizations in consideration for the “Living the Dream” awards. The awards will be presented on Monday, January 15, 2024 as part of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Observance.

Five individual awards, and up to three Service Organization awards will be given to those who best exemplify, through action, and/or personal traits, the principles and ideals characterizing Dr. King in his pursuit of social change. The six categories and criteria are:

  1. Advocate of Peace: A person who has been an advocate of social change in a non-violent way.
  2. Sharing of Self: A person who has rendered to others in the public or private sector.
  3. Human and Civil Rights: A person who has been actively involved in the pursuit of equality for others; an advocate for social change.
  4. Scholarship: A person who has made significant contributions in education.
  5. Governor’s Living the Dream Award: A person who best exemplifies all the characteristics of justice, scholarship, sharing of self, human and civil rights, and advocacy of peace; with a recognizable sense of civic awareness and public service.
  6. Service Organization Honor Roll: Qualifying organizations must have demonstrated one or more of the principles for which Dr. King stood: the promotion of human and civil rights, providing assistance to underserved communities, promotion of tolerance, and resolving conflict in a nonviolent manner.

Complete nomination packets must include:

  1. A brief typewritten statement (no more than one page) that discusses the qualities of the nominee that best meets the standard of a specific award category.
  2. A one-page biography with a color picture of the candidate or mission statement/activities of the organization.
  3. Materials (e.g., newspaper articles) that describe the nominee’s community involvement.
  4. The category in which your nominee is nominated.
  5. Submissions by USPS mail, e-mail and/or fax must have a postmark or date stamp no later than 5:00 p.m. on December 15, 2023.

Submit Complete Nomination Packet via USPS, Email or Fax to:

MLK, Jr. State Holiday Commission
Chairperson Jill Upson
State Capitol, Building 1, Room 9R
1900 Kanawha Boulevard
Charleston, WV 25305

Fax: 304.558.1201

Click here for a printable form.

Living the Dream Award Past Recipients

2020 Living the Dream Award Winners

2019 Living the Dream Award Winners

2018 Living the Dream Award Winners

2017 Living the Dream Award Winners

2016 Living the Dream Award winners

2015 Living the Dream award winners

2014 Living the Dream award winners

2013 Living the Dream award winners

2012 Living the Dream award winners

2011 Living the Dream award winners

2010 Living the Dream award winners



MLK State Holiday Commission
State Capitol
Building 1, Room 9R
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, WV 25305